Select Page

Magnus Hook, Ph.D., Founder and President

Dr. Hook is a Neva and Wesley West Professor, Regents Professor , and Director of the Center for Infectious and Inflammatory Diseases (formerly the Center for Extracellular Matrix Biology), Institute of Bioscience and Technology, Texas A&M University System Health Science Center. Dr. Hooks past entrepreneurial experiences (Co-Founder, Inhibitex (Bristol-Meyers acquisition); co-founder, Pulmotect) guide ECMTs activities. He has 30+ years experience in extracellular matrix biology and has recently been named one of TMCs “Innovators in the TMC”. Dr. Hooks passion for scientific discoveries is complemented by his ability to imagine how they could impact medical care.

Brooke Russell, Ph.D., Co-Founder and Vice President

Dr. Russell is an Assistant Professor at the Center for Infectious and Inflammatory Diseases, Institute of Bioscience and Technology, Texas A&M University System Health Science Center. She handles daily operations including R&D oversight, grant submissions, and product development. Her career goals are to transition ECMT out of academia and into an independent business.

David McQuillan, Ph.D., Operations

Dr. McQuillan earned his BSc (Hons) and Ph.D. in Biochemistry from Monash University, Australia in 1985. He spent 15 years in academia, including the NIH (Bethesda, MD), The University of Melbourne (Australia), and finally as Associate Professor, CIID-TAMU-IBT. He has since held Vice President/Sr Vice President/CSO positions in three leading regenerative medicine companies: LifeCell Corporation (Branchburg, NJ), Kinetic Concepts Inc (San Antonio, TX), and Tela Bio Inc (Malvern, PA) where he was responsible for leading research and product development functions, and launched market-leading products used in reconstructive surgery and wound healing.

Larry Lawson, Board of Directors

Mr. Larry Lawson has more than 30 years medical device industry experience (Johnson & Johnson, founder and CEO LifeMed Technologies Inc., founder Diagnostic Monitoring). More recently, he founded eCardio, a leading arrhythmia-monitoring company, which recently had a successful monetizing event, and was named Young’s Health Science Entrepreneur of the Year in 2009.

John Untereker, Board of Directors

John Untereker has served executive management roles for a broad range of global industries for more than 30 years (CFO OmniCare, CFO American Electric Inc, CEO eCardio Diagnostics). He has an extensive background in M&A, accounting and financing, financial reporting, tax accounting, budgeting/forecasting and SEC reporting.

Elizabeth Cosgriff-Hernandez, Ph.D., Engineering

Dr. Cosgriff-Hernandez is a Professor in the Biomedical Engineering Department at The University of Texas. She assists in product design and implementation as well as driving academic collaborations in new areas of Designer Collagen use.